Home / About Us

About Anna

The Honorable Anna B. Johnson was elected to serve on Charleston County Council, District #8, in November 2010. She was inspired to run for the office of County Council to help residents with the improvement of their living conditions in the settlement areas.

Her goals are to keep Charleston County moving forward with economic development while preserving the charter of the Sea Islands and improving traffic congestion and communities where people live, work and play.

Prior to being elected to County Council, Ms. Johnson served as Program Site Coordinator for the College of Charleston, Program Coordinator for the Charleston Area YWCA, Community Educator Worker for Charleston County Schools, Administrative Specialist for the Medical University of South Carolina, Administrative Specialist for the S. C. Department of Transportation and a Council Member for the first Town of James Island.

Ms. Johnson is a local resident of James Island where her family has lived for five generations. She graduated from W. G. Gresham Meggett High School and she later attended Trident Technical College, the College of Charleston and the University of Southern Illinois, Carbondale where she obtained her Bachelor Degree in Workforce Development and Training. She is a hard worker who put herself through college while continuing to work to support her family.

Anna was the first in her family to obtain a college degree. Her vision in life has always been to educate and uplift her community.

Councilwoman Johnson presently serves as Vice Chair for County Council, Chair of Affordable Housing Special Sub-committee, , Library Board of Trustees (Liaison), and Chair of Public Safety.

She has served as former member: Audit (Chair) Economic Development (V. Chair), Solid Waste/Recycle (Chair), Tri-County Links Rural Transportation Management Association (Chair) and Charleston Area Regional Transportation Authority, CARTA,

Her civic involvement includes her membership with the Charleston County Democratic Party, South Carolina Coalition for Voter Participation, James Island Ministerial Alliance, NAACP, Democratic Women (Former Member), CHOICES Women’s Center (Former Member), (Sea Island Comprehensive Healthcare(Former Board Member), CEO Credit Union (Former Secretary).

She is a member of First Baptist Church, James Island and serves on Security Ministry, also served as former Chair for Harvest Day (two years), Women’s Day (two years), Vice Chair Pictorial Committee, and Exploratory Committee.